Together, we can end the COVID pandemic. Find out where you can get a vaccine at

For more information about the Emergency Rental Assistance Program, contact the call center at 1-844-287-1250 or send an email to

Press Releases

View More In This Section

City of Birmingham Announces Core Leadership Team for Women’s Initiative

BIRMINGHAM, AL – Thirty-three women have been selected to serve on the inaugural core leadership team for the Women’s Initiative. The Office of PEACE and Policy established the Women’s Initiative at the direction of Mayor Randall L. Woodfin to improve the lives of women and children in Birmingham.

The core leadership team will work with the city’s Division of Social Justice and Racial Equity to address community issues such as poverty, healthcare, domestic violence and police relations. The core will assess, identify and share best practices in order to make recommendations to Mayor Woodfin.

“The City of Birmingham is committed to creating opportunities to elevate the quality of life and justice for all women and girls,” Mayor Woodfin said. “I am excited and confident that through the work of the Women’s Initiative core leadership team, we will be able to work together as a community to make a difference in the lives of all women and girls.”

The core leadership team selection process was based on the applicant’s desire to perform servant leadership and public service while also providing strategic and thoughtful decisions. This group consists of young women, nonprofit youth representatives, elected officials and community members representing the following groups: African American, American Indian, Asian American/Pacific Islander, Disability, Latinx, LGBTQ+ and White.

“Having a diverse group of women representing the Women’s Initiative core leadership team plays a vital role in ensuring that we solve issues with an equitable lens,” said Uche Bean, administrator of the Division of Social Justice and Racial Equity. “We look forward to working closely with this team to begin the much-needed work to ignite change.”

The individuals selected to serve are:

Adrianne Marbury
Alexandria Cobb
Alexandria Means
Amber Sutton
Averie L. Armstead, Esq.
Bridget Rudolph Roscoe
Connie Hill
Cynthia Moore
Dalia Abrams
Debra Pettit Bruns
Emily Herring
Jacqueline Joyce Cockrell
Jacqueline Perry
Kelly Klehm
Kimberly Hannon
Knetta Adkins
Kristie Marie Williams, PhD
Kristin E. Garrett
La’Toya Lee
Leila Lewis
Lonnie Finley Pressley
Maani Kamal
Mandy Parente
Miya Angele Moore
Morgan Johnsn
Nan Wagner
Nancy Sailer
Sarah Estopinal
Sarah Hale
Tawanna Morton
Toni Leeth
Tynice Shavon Smiley
Yvette Burt 

To learn more about the Women’s Initiative, visit or email