Welcome to the official webpage of the Birmingham City Council. This page is designed to inform about the Birmingham community and provide detailed information about the elected officials of the Birmingham City Council. The Birmingham City Council is the legislative branch of Birmingham city government as defined by the Mayor-Council Act of the State of Alabama. All official actions must be approved by a majority vote of the Council during its regular meeting at 9:30 each Tuesday morning.

Birmingham City Council President
Roderick V. Royal, MPA

Phone: 205.254.2302
Representing District 9

Birmingham City Councilor
Pro Tempore
Steven W. Hoyt
Phone: 205.254.2304
Representing District 8

Birmingham City Councilor Lashunda Scales
Phone: 205.254.2349
Representing District 1

Birmingham City Councilor
Kim Rafferty
Phone: 205.254.2348
Representing District 2

Birmingham City Councilor Valerie A. Abbott
Phone: 205.254.2355
Representing District 3

Birmingham City Councilor Maxine Herring Parker
Phone: 205.254.2464
Representing District 4

Birmingham City Councilor Johnathan Austin
Phone: 205.254.2678
Representing District 5

Birmingham City Councilor Carole C. Smitherman
Phone: 205.254.2359
Representing District 6

Birmingham City Councilor James "Jay" Roberson, Jr.
Phone: 205.254.2498
Representing District 7

Birmingham City Hall - Third Floor
Office of the City Council
710 North 20th Street
Birmingham, AL 35203

Council Administrator: Cheryl A. Kidd
Phone: 205-254-2294

Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
Business Number: 205-254-2294
Council Fax: 205-254-2603
Listing of Boards & Agencies

City Council Website